IMG_1495Walking my corgi at the park today, looking at her wiggling butt, I feel extremely grateful to have the chance to be her mom.

I would like to dedicate this post to her- Mini Chea, my 4 years old corgi. She made me a better person, a happier person and definitely goofier!

I bumped into 4-day-old her at a parking lot on campus. She was sold to me by a college student who has two adult corgis. She is the first litter of puppies by her biological mother. When I met her at the parking lot, she was so tiny, as big as the size of my palm, her tail was docked and her feet were declawed. I never really understand why would people want to dock the lovely tail of a Pembroke Welsh Corgi. If she has a tail, it would be like a fox tail and that would be so adorable.

I have always wanted a dog ever since I was a child, looking at a litter of tiny corgi puppies, how could I resist their cuteness and angelic faces? I took her home after about two months, after weaning.

She doesn’t really like me at first. I’m like an evil stranger who took her away and gave her a bath on the first day I took her home. I am also the stranger who fed her partially blended rice and beef food, dressed her up into colorful clothes with bow ties that she absolutely hates it.

12873_10151154556717297_201395165_n

67762_10151187542512297_1078798632_n

It took me about four weeks to train her to pee and poop at pee pad. During this process, she made me a better-tempered person and much more patient than I was. I read a lot of books about infant’s personality development and its relationship to puppies. Puppies are like babies. They mimic their parents’ behavior including temper and personality. At the beginning of training her to poop and pee at their right spot makes me quite frustrated. She will pee and poop everywhere including my blanket and my pillows. I threw away one blanket and 5 pillows. During this process, I learnt to be patient and gentle. I learnt that yelling at her will make things worse so I stopped getting angry at her and stopped showing her negative feelings like anger and sadness. I praise her whenever she did it almost right, and praise her repeatedly whenever she did it right.

574485_10151157456117297_740126697_n

I learned to talk to her and people around me politely and kindly. I get angry less and less in my daily life. I smile more. Her smile calms me down instantly whenever I am stressed. She made me a much more calm and peaceful person. When I took her home, I looked at her and promised her that I’ll give her the best food I can afford and be the most loving mother to her. I did not know how to do it back then. I read a lot of books and living with her changed my personality gradually. I want her to be happy and not to be afraid of me so I became a much more gentle person. I smile to her every time she looks at me or I look at her. I want her to know that it is okay to make mistakes and I’ll not be mad at her so I tried not to get angry at her whenever she did something wrong. I want her to be confident so I praise her every time she did something right. I want her to know that this is her home and she can explore the whole place so I do not use crate or confine her to a certain area. A lot of pet training books encourage the use of crate but I find that when I place more trust in her she is happier and feel much more comfortable.

533798_10151154560072297_470248048_n

I learnt the simplest and most fundamental sincere happiness from her. She doesn’t need much to be happy. When we human beings are trying so hard to get more or ask for more in life in order to be happy, she taught me how to be happy in the simplest way. She smiles to greet everyone she sees. Her favourite person to greet is the FedEx people, whenever they dropped a package at the front door, she will run to the window by the door and wag her tail and still smiling even after they had left. I like to hide pieces of dog cookies around to play “treasure hunt” with her. The satisfaction of finding each piece makes her happy.

She taught me to be forgiving. Some people do not like dogs.We have a neighbour who really does not like dogs. I sometimes let her run around without leash, and there’s one time she went to greet this neighbour of ours who kicked her because she doesn’t like dogs. She even yelled at me and asked me to get her away. Mini still smiles to her every time she sees her. I’m the one who is still furious at our neighbour and can’t forgive her for kicking my daughter. Since Mini seems to have already forgiven her, I’ll learn to forgive and forget too.

She also taught me how to be manipulative and get away with things. Mini seems to have this fine taste of knowing which pair of shoes are the most expensive and she absolutely prefers heels than flats. When she was less than a year old she was quite destructive, she doesn’t like her chew toys, she prefers my high heels and toilet papers/kitchen papers. There’s one time she figured out the place we stored kitchen papers and toilet papers. When I got home, the whole living rooms is covered with small pieces of toilet papers. I looked at her and I asked “is that you?”, she rolled over with her tummy facing me and keep smiling. To make sure that I’m absolutely not mad at her,  she keeps smiling at me until I’m done cleaning up and later on she even went to our bedroom and stayed there for a few hours as some sort of self punishment I supposed. She taught me that I should smile more and that keep smiling can help me to get away with things or get what I want. Sometimes I’m really busy with my homework, I will ignore her for hours, she will sit right beside my desk and keep smiling until I play with her for a while.

Mini also showed me what is never giving up if something is really important to me. She has been chasing squirrels for years but she never caught them. She will still try every time she sees them and she never give up. Sometimes I have to stand by the tree for half an hour to wait for her to keep trying to chase the squirrel on top of the tree. I have to carry her away to snap her out of it every single time.

Each day with her by my side, I am growing with her, learning from her and be inspired by her.

Thank you Mini. Mommy loves you,always. Because of you, mommy is a happier person with much more patience and wisdom. You will always be my happy little angel with lots of wisdom and laughters.
  
  
  
  

 

Leave a Reply

